SOCALSVRIDERS.ORG  
Go Back   SOCALSVRIDERS.ORG > Topic Discussions > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mon 9/15/03, 10:31PM
GTP GTP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, Ca
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to GTP
Watch out for motorcycle scams on CycleTrader

After seeing a CBR 600RR for 4800.00 on CycleTrader.com I quickly called the phone number listed and sent and e-mail. The phone call went unanswered but the e-mail was responded to. Below is his reply to me.

-----Original Message-----
From: j k [mailto:eshop2324@blaiteng.net]
Sent: Sunday, September 14, 2003 2:01 AM
To: gtp@***.***
Subject: 2003 HONDA CBR 600RR!!

Dear Aaron,
My bike has NEVER been down or dropped. Bike is in
perfect shape. NO ACCIDENTS. NO DENTS. NO SCRATCHES.NO
CRACKS. NO DEMAGE. Kept inside. I do not know any
problems. All service on time.Runs FANTASTIC . BIKE IS
ROAD READY.
The bike is crazy fast and handles like a dream.I will
provide you all the papers you need for the bike !
Please let me inform you that I'm a private seller and
I'm from London ( U.K. ).The shipping will be made
from here .Because it's a long way as a
carrier we can use the UPS ( I have a nice discount
here).The shipping costs will be supported by me.For
this transaction I'm willing to use an escrow
service.This is a 3th part service. They will protect
your money and my bike.You will have to make the
payment for them. They will keep your money in their
custody till you will receive and inspect the bike.
The service is Autotradesecure ( it's safety, cheap
and fast ). I'm sure we can proceed this way. You will
find more info about the service here :
www.autotradesecure.com
Thank you for your prompt respond and great efforts
!!!





After doing a little investigative work here's my response to him.

Hello Joseph,

Before I forward your information to the authorities I'd just like to explain how incredibly stupid you are.

First mistake:
Listing a cell phone number to someone who never picks up or returns phone calls. The cell phone is registered to a AT&T wireless customer that does not match your name.

Second mistake:
Wanting to use a third party escrow service that’s not real.

Lets take a look at some things here.

First your e-mail address and display name.

J k eshop2324@blaiteng.net

The domain blaiteng.net domain forwards to a simple and lame geocities website registered though Yahoo domains.

Third mistake: The autotradesecure.com domain.

The contact page is unavailable. What kind of business do you think has international transactions and has a down contact page? Not likely. The "History" partition of the website claims it was started in 2000 yet the website according to Network Solutions has only been active since Aug 3rd. And the website is registered with a contact address of business@best-e-shop.com

Fourth mistake: The best-e-shop.com domain has another lame geocities redirect to of all things, Ebay.

Seeing your e-mail address like I mentioned above "eshop2324" it wasn't surprising to lookup that domain and find it registered to none other than YOU!

Organisation Name.... Joseph Kispo
Organisation Address. 3485 Creek Drive
Organisation Address. Douglasville
Organisation Address. 30135
Organisation Address. GA
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Pack your bags and close shop Joseph. Your day is done. This e-mail as well as all documentation has been forwarded to Cycle Trader, Yahoo, FBI High Technology crimes div and my local authorities.

Have a nice day

P.S. That was me who just called you on your phone and asked if Joe was around, thanks for confirming your name with me it made my day. You're also unlucky enough to live close to a relative of mine in the Armed Services in Douglasville. Shall I send him a knockin?

Aaron Lephart



Just a heads up for people who might have been lured to this type of scam.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mon 9/15/03, 11:17PM
BluBallz's Avatar
BluBallz BluBallz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to BluBallz
NICE detective work, im curious to see how you did all this stuff...
__________________
*vroom*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Mon 9/15/03, 11:24PM
license2ill's Avatar
license2ill license2ill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 415
On top of that, shipped UPS?

I don't think they'll ship anything over 150lbs.

Can't get the smile off my face thinking about that guy shitting his pants.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 1:06AM
JesseJames's Avatar
JesseJames JesseJames is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PB
Posts: 778
Very nice work!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 1:27AM
kc1717's Avatar
kc1717 kc1717 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: solana beach
Posts: 504
Send a message via AIM to kc1717
very ver nice work

you should search for aprilia mille R

i saw one for 6000 buy it now on ebay.

and you know that a mint mille R with 300 miles does not go for 6000.

i emailed the guy and he said i can pay pal him the money and he will ship the bike when he gets back from over seas.


i really hope no one falls for these type of scams, but way to go on following up on that guy
__________________

2004 CBR1000RR
had a svs before, so i still have love for all of you

Last edited by kc1717; Sun 7/9/06 at 6:56PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 2:54AM
illustr8dman's Avatar
illustr8dman illustr8dman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: pah-Sah de-Nah
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via AIM to illustr8dman
Thank you Aaron.
__________________
'There are some artist who want to tell all, but I feel it is more shrewd to tell little.'-Mark Rothko
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 5:39AM
rebelman's Avatar
rebelman rebelman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to rebelman
Did this loser have anything to say after you presented him with all of this information?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 7:07AM
vipman's Avatar
vipman vipman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Corona
Posts: 195
Good job, a nice reminder for peeps buying online to do some homework.
__________________
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 7:22AM
Knightshade's Avatar
Knightshade Knightshade is offline
Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,692
very nice work!!! I would have liked to had a video or something of him reading your email.

Idiot getting caught in his hare brained scam: Priceless.

__________________
Even the stone upon which you stumble, is a part of your fate.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 7:36AM
Rocko's Avatar
Rocko Rocko is offline
Hi
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,163
you da man!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
R

Suzuki kicks ass!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 8:06AM
Karter18's Avatar
Karter18 Karter18 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cowan Heights, CA
Posts: 546
I had a similar experience for an Aprilia Tuono Racing for $8,000. the guy would only communicate by email because he said he had a hearing problem.

Said it was his brothers bike located in San Diego and he lived in Seattle and would fly down to meet to do the transaction if I deposited $1,500 into a third party escrow site with me as both the payee and also making the payment.

I repeatly asked for a VIN as he told me it had clear title but he avoided the question so I dropped contacting him.

Nice investegative work on your part and I hope your friend brings a few buddies and has a blanket party with the ripoff artist!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 8:25AM
madmakr's Avatar
madmakr madmakr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to madmakr
GOOD JOB Aaron!!

This is a big scam I have seen many times on E-Bay. Fake escrow companies. Dirty scumbags!! Great detective work GTP!
__________________
MAK,

"the details of my life are quite inconsequential?"
-Dr Evil
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 9:14AM
Indy's Avatar
Indy Indy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Indy Send a message via Yahoo to Indy
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 9:55AM
MadPete's Avatar
MadPete MadPete is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 47
That was hilarious!

Good job man. It's always a great feeling to hear someone screw over idiots like that. Now can you find the bastards that keep sending me spam mail!!!
__________________
MadPete
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Tue 9/16/03, 10:17AM
dnakase's Avatar
dnakase dnakase is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Alhambra, Ca
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via AIM to dnakase Send a message via Yahoo to dnakase
Uh, so how would you go about setting up a more fool proof sca... operation? Hypotheticly of course.
__________________
"Look, an undead monkey" (Blam)
- Capt. Jack Sparrow
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:48PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2009 SOCALSVRIDERS.